2016 is done! Reflections…

boats

So my 2016 work-year comes to an end. It has been a great journey and definitely one of my nicest ones in recent years.

In terms of financial (why I keep this blog!) the following happened:

  • Settled all outstanding debt by paying off the house
  • Sold my shares in a private business that accounted for the majority of the boost in net worth (+50%) and re-invested all this cash.
  • Watched the currency strengthen from its horrible lows last December.
  • Consistently saved in excess of 50% this financial year excluding the business share proceeds.

All-in-all a great year and we’ve gotten to the stage that we are so close to the 4% to cover expenses that it’s possibly in the bag by next year.

I’ve learnt a lot over the year, am in a happy place than I was last year. Work is done for the year and so can go away peacefully for the end-of-year festivities.

Happy holidays for those taking time off!

 

